Skip to content

reflections: one month(ish) in.

06.23.10
tags:

Well, I have been blogging for a little over a month now and as I was thinking about it today, I had some reflections.

The biggest thing I’ve realized is that for a healthy living blog, I have a lot I can (and should) improve on to live the kind of life I am striving for. During my weight loss journey, I ate and did the things that got the results I wanted. Don’t get me wrong, the weight loss is such an accomplishment and I am so proud of that. I have a bit more that I like to lose, but I think once I start to develop the kind of truly healthy habits I would like, that will happen naturally.

While I realize that nobody is perfect and everyone has days were they eat more junk than they should or are a little lazy, I sometimes feel like those days for me are far too frequent. Those days are completely necessary, but in moderation. I really want to develop the kinds of habits and a healthy, balanced lifestyle that I can be proud of and that will keep my body strong for years and years.

So, in working to build that lifestyle, a few of the things I can think of I want to work on are:

Produce. I know and will be the first to admit that I do not get the amount of fruits and vegetables I need to in my diet. I want to incorporate more produce in every day.

Processed foods. I want to work on minimizing the amount of processed stuff I put in my body. When I was doing Weight Watchers, things like 100 calorie packs or frozen dinners were lifesavers! I love a good candy bar or whatever else, but I want to really focus on sticking to the outer edges of the grocery store where the majority of the unprocessed foods are.

Liquids. Liquids are a huge struggle for me. Everything from not drinking enough water, to fancy coffee drinks (lattes, Frappuccinos, etc.), to a semi Diet Coke addiction, what I am drinking is a constant struggle. I want to get my minimum 64 ounces of water every day, limit the coffee drinks to once a week (and stop counting them as breakfast!), and really limit how much Diet Coke I drink.

Exercise. Exercise is definitely something that I have come a long ways on – never in my life did I think I could do a a 25K race! But, it’s also something I can really improve in, even if it’s just popping in an exercise DVD or taking a walk, I want to work on getting at least 30 minutes of activity in every day.

While I don’t expect everything to completely change overnight, I think awareness is the first step in making a change. I have things I want to improve on and I know that this site has made me so much more aware of it all. I am excited to continue on the healthy living journey and live out that kind of life.

I want to talk the talk and walk the walk.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 06.23.10 11:25 pm

    I love that you are seeing healthy living as a journey and not something you can get to overnight. Exercising for 30 minutes a day is awesome. Just break a sweat, or stretch, do something with the intention of exercising your body. The intention is one of the most important parts! By the way, I ordered the Jillian Michael’s No More Trouble Zone video and some hand weights and cannot wait to try it out and see if it kicks my butt. I love her intensity!

    • 06.24.10 10:43 am

      I’ve been curious about the NMTZ DVD…somewhat intimidated, though, since I’ve heard it is intense!

  2. 06.23.10 11:47 pm

    Good for you for thinking about ways to improve and putting it out there! And I agree that you can’t change things overnight if you intend them to stay so take baby steps and just keep being aware of your goals. This community of bloggers will give you support and motivation. 🙂

Leave a Reply

