Skip to content

comfort versus complacency.

06.29.10

I haven’t quite regained all my energy, I think the food poisoning is well past. Yes! I wasn’t feel quite up to a full cardio workout yet, so I did things like situps, planks and side planks, chest flys, and lots of other 30 Day Shred moves during the first half of Losing It with Jillian Michaels. Although I sometimes feel like Jillian sold out a bit with her like of “dietary supplements”, overall, I think she has an amazing heart and she has definitely shown she can get results. I think it is so important that she tries to get at the issue behind a person’s weight problems because more often than not, I believe there is a deeper issue at the heart of things.

It’s surprising how even just a couple days of little food can affect the stomach. I really haven’t had to eat much at all today to feel full. We had pizza at work for lunch today and I was satisfied after one slice! Normally, it’s at least two! I do need to be sure to get enough calories, since not enough can be just as detrimental.

One of my coworkers sent me some pictures from an event we had last month and I was a bit dismayed at how I looked in the pictures. I have been feeling quite comfortable in my size, but these pictures were not an image I am happy with. While comfortable, I do have about thirty pounds to lose to reach the goal weight I set when I started my weight loss journey almost four years ago. I think that, perhaps, what I thought was comfort was in fact complacency. I don’t want to be complacent anymore. I want to reach the goal I started with. I’m not one for setting deadlines on weight loss, because I don’t think that is completely realistic, but I am all about goals.

So, my new goal, is to reach my goal weight by December 31, 2010. Thirty pounds in six months. The Home Stretch.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 06.29.10 11:45 pm

    Good for you! I think goals are so important to keep you motivated. Hope your energy levels are back to normal by tomorrow. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

