Skip to content

contemplating veganism.

07.8.10
tags:

Currently, I am vegetarian.

I was for about six months from November 2008 – May 2009, just to see if I could do it. Then, I started eating meat again.

February 14, 2010, I rededicated myself to a veggie lifestyle. While I’m hoping/planning for it to be a lifelong decision, I really don’t want to make any promises to that. Right now, I have no plans to go back anytime soon.

I have a lot of reasons for it, including the treatment of animals, health, environmental, etc. I could relay a bunch of statistics, but I’m horrible at remembering that kind of stuff. The documentary Food, Inc. was a big motivator. The images in that film were somewhat scarring.

Mostly though, I know that for me, it is what’s right. I don’t begrudge people that are meat eaters, but for me, it’s not a good fit.

Meat was not too much of a sacrifice for me to stop eating. I was never a huge meat eater and it was very rare that I had a true craving for meat. I really don’t miss it.

On the other hand, I love, love, love dairy and all related products. Cheese. Ice cream. Cream cheese. Cheesecake. Sour cream. Eggs. The list goes on and on. I love it.

But, a lot of the reasons that I gave up meat are equally as applicable when it comes to dairy. The cows and chickens for milk and eggs are not treating any better than the other factory farmed animals. There are still the same health concerns and environmental issues.

I really like the idea of veganism.

I just don’t know if I can do it.

For now, I want to work on minimizing how much dairy and eggs I eat.

Eventually, maybe I’ll get to the point where I can completely cut it out.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 07.8.10 10:52 pm

    I feel the same way! I have been vegan, for short periods, and it always comes down to cheese.

    I rarely drink / use milk anyway, and love the coconut / hemp / almond varieties, we’ve been using those for years. While I am not currently completely vegan, it is only because I eat goat cheese maybe a couple times a month. There are even good creme cheese alternatives out there (TOFUTTI!!) but I’ve yet to find Mmm goat cheese.

    🙂

    I feel pretty great about my ethical eating right now.

  2. 07.9.10 8:26 am

    Most of “if I can do it” issues, for me, is the lack of inspiration to keep doing it and in my opinion, this video from Mercy for Animals is really good

    http://www.mercyforanimals.org/i-am-mfa.aspx

    About the love for dairy products, you should look for new passions. For example I used to love yogurt and homemade almond yogurt did the trick. About the cheese, I don’t know if there are Daiya chesse in your cty, but I hear a lot about it as the best vegan cheese. It’s just a matter of acquiring new habits. Here in Brazil I had to start over because we had almost no alternative for dairy and now I can’t think about consuming any dairy product anymore. About the egg, try some scrambled tofu with olive oil and some good spices, you might lack the fat at start but I’m sure soon you’ll love it. Spinach is great with scrambled tofu. Your body will have to adjust to a lower fat diet but I’m sure it’ll thank you =)

  3. 07.9.10 4:24 pm

    I think you have to listen to your body and do what’s right for you! I’ve never been tested for lactose intolerance but I know my body doesn’t digest it well so that wasn’t difficult to me but I understand how it could be! I love almond milk and have found soy and hemp alternatives for ice cream, etc. While I primarily eat a vegetarian diet, I still have certain types of fish on occasion for Omega-3s. It’s crucial to make sure you are getting all the necessary nutrients! Take small steps and do what feels right for your mind + body. 🙂

Leave a Reply

