Skip to content

sweet potato fries.

07.15.10

In my new challenge to buy a new kind of produce each trip to the grocery store, I picked up sweet potatoes this week. I see so many people who eat sweet potato fries, I knew that’s what I had to try with one of them, which is exactly what I did tonight!

I cut my sweet potato into little fry-size strips.

Then, mixed some EVOO, some salt and pepper, a little cayenne pepper, and just a hint of garlic with the strips in a Ziploc bag. I really didn’t know what to season them with, but this was a good combination.

The crucial step is next. Crack open a beer.

Okay, okay, this is not in any way crucial to the fries. But, it tastes fantastic on a hot summer day!

I baked mine in the toaster oven at 425 for 20ish minutes. Next time, I’d do a lower temperature and a longer time. They started to blacken, but were still a bit soft.

Then, enjoy! I ate mine along with a Morningstar burger, topped with some CoJack cheese, arugula, onion, and tomato. Nom nom.

The rest of the day was quite hectic, starting with getting to the office at 6:30 to get coffee and everything ready for a 7 am meeting. Not fun! I really can’t complain because the meeting was with physicians, so most of them had already been to the hospital and rounded on their patients before I even got to the building. I am far from a morning person, so that’s reason 6854 why I am not a doctor!

Breakfast was a bagel at the meeting, and lunch was homemade guacamole, tortilla chips, and grapes. There were a couple chocolate chip cookies mid-afternoon.

Now, I’m trying to get up the motivation to head to the Y which is seriously lacking. An early, early morning topped with the hottest heat index all summer (heat = yes, humid = boo!) leaves me highly exhausted. They don’t close until 10, so I might still get a late night workout in.

I still have one sweet potato left; any other ideas for what to do with it?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 07.15.10 7:36 pm

    pan fry slices of sweet potato in olive oil like you would potatoes in the morning. add some garlic salt too… so good.

    we usually get the pre-cut sweet potato fries from Trader Joe’s. 😉

  2. 07.15.10 7:54 pm

    I like to bake a sweet potato whole and top it with salsa! Maybe even some scrambled egg whites for protein. 🙂

  3. 07.18.10 12:44 am

    Sweet potato enchiladas are really good. I make mine with black beans and nix the cheese.

Leave a Reply

