Skip to content

no excuses.

07.19.10

I hereby deem this No Excuses Week.

Too often, I find myself finding ways to justify bad eating or (lack of) exercise. Don’t get me wrong, I fully believe that those moments are completely necessary to maintain sanity and keep from going off the deep end and eating an entire carton of Ben and Jerry’s in one sitting. Yet, it’s when those justifications become commonplace that it becomes unhealthy.

I think that I have allowed those justifications to happen more and more frequently. And, I’ll be honest, there are times that I am somewhat ashamed to ‘fess up, so I just don’t blog it. Take for example, the copious number of Girl Scout cookies I ate during my weekend of rest and relaxation. But, if I don’t blog about it, nobody is the wiser. Except me. I know.

So, this week, I am challenging myself to be completely honest in my blogging and to stop making excuses for what I did (or didn’t) eat and the exercise I did (or didn’t) get it. That’s not to say that I’m going to be perfect this week. Don’t expect perfection. I’ll mess up, but I’m okay with that. What I need to get better at is a reality check. My habits aren’t going to change or improve if I sweep it under the rug, pretend like it never happened.

I want to continue on an upwards path to a healthy, balanced lifestyle. I think I’m getting there, slowly but surely. But, I need to remember that it is okay to have something unhealthy or take a day off from the gym. It’s all about balance.

So, No Excuses Week begins…now!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 07.19.10 9:24 am

    Balance is so dificult, isn’t it? It is so easy to be really healthy or completely unhealthy. It is hard to consistently practice moderation and balance. It is awesome that you aren’t allowing any excuses. Enjoy yourself, your food, and your exercise. That is really anyone can ask of you (And the only thing you can ask of yourself).

    • 07.19.10 9:49 pm

      It is super tough! I feel like I either do really great or really lousy. I’m just working on making the good days better than the bad (but still having some rest days and junk food in there too!). One day at a time, right?!

Leave a Reply

