Skip to content

sweet potato fries for the win.

08.3.10

So, ever since my first semi-successful attempt at sweet potato fries, I’ve been wanting to give it another try. Tonight was the night and were they ever delish!

When I was making the seasoning, I threw a couple tablespoons of Panko breadcrumbs in the bag and baked them longer than I did the first time. I loved them and will definitely be making them that way again.

Sweet Potato Fries
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Cut up a sweet potato in to French fry size strips. I cut the skin off, but you can leave it on if you prefer, just be sure to clean it well.

In a Ziploc bag, add 1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil, 2 Tbsp. Panko bread crumbs, 1 tsp. cayenne pepper, 1 tsp. cinnamon, kosher salt and pepper to taste. Feel free to adjust the amount of seasoning to fit your personal tastes. Adjust the amounts if you want to use more than one potato. i.e. Double if using two. Add in the sweet potato strips and shake until they are all well coated. Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until browned.

I paired it with an open faced Morningstar burger, topped with some co-jack cheese, onion, tomato, ketchup, and mustard. It was a bit messy, but since I had toast for breakfast, I wasn’t really feeling in a huge bread mood. I used one slice on the bottom and that was enough.

I was excited at work this afternoon because my first issue of The Non-Profit Times came today! Yes, I am that much of a dork about the non-profit sector. C’mon, you can’t spend two years working on a Masters degree in something and not have at least some semblance of an interest in it! I had a chocolate break while I skimmed through it.

After work, I met up for a coffee date with my friend Amy who I met taking public relations classes during my undergrad. I love being able to catch up on life with old friends. We had a good chat about “grown up” decisions like careers, buying houses, etc. Sometimes, it feels weird to think about that kind of stuff; I don’t feel like I’m old enough yet! I enjoyed an iced caramel macchiato. It hit the spot on a hot and humid day.

I’m a bit sore after yesterdays 90 minutes of cardio, so I’m off to do the Biggest Loser yoga DVD. I wanted to get to the class at the Y, but it was at the same time as my coffee date. Ah, such is life. Thankfully, there are alternatives!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 08.4.10 12:07 am

    Your dinner looks delicious!

  2. 08.4.10 9:01 am

    i LOVE the biggest loser yoga dvd haha. i can recite all of bob’s comments: “feel the energy shooting out from your fingertips as you lengthen! lengthen forward!”

Leave a Reply

