Skip to content

find my voice and start a revolution.

08.16.10

The Healthy Living Summit inspired me on so many levels, particularly in the direction that I want to take not only my blog, but my life.

I titled my blog just a one girl revolution. for a couple reasons.

First, the title is from the song “One Girl Revolution” by the band (and Operation Beautiful supporters!) Superchick. The song is in the movies Legally Blonde and a Disney Channel movie from several years ago, Cadet Kelly. Since the first time I heard it, this song completely resonated with me. It has become my life theme song and go to motivation for workouts as well as life in general. It appears on almost every single workout playlist I make, particularly for races.

I love the spirit of the lyrics:
Some people see the revolution but most only see the girl
I can lose my hard earned freedom if my fear defines my world
I declare my independence from the critics and their stones
I can find my revolution I can learn to stand alone.

And I’ll be everything that I want to be
I am confidence in insecurity
I am a voice yet waiting to be heard
I’ll shoot the shot, bang, that you hear round the world.

I also chose the name because I, like many people my age, have the idealism that I can change the world. One of my all time favorite quotes is from Gandhi: “be the change you wish to see in the world” and in the spirit of that, I think it is fully possible that one person can effect hugely positive change in the world. One person can start a revolution.

Look at Caitlin‘s Operation Beautiful movement. She is inspiring people around the world to change the way they see themselves. Or, think of Jamie Tworkoski, founder of To Write Love on Her Arms, a non-profit organization fully focused around the idea of hope, particularly for those struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury, and suicide. Both of these revolutions started from something so small: a Post-It note and a mySpace page. Yet, both of those seemingly small things are changing the world. These are just two examples of people I hugely admire for the difference they are making in the lives of so many. They are truly creating a revolution.

So, how does all of that relate to me and my blog?

At the Summit panel on The Ups and Downs of Pressing Publish, a couple of the panelists talked about the importance of finding your voice for your blog, and since that time, the idea of revolution continues to come to mind.

Over the past year or so since I started reading healthy living blogs, but particularly in the past few months that I have had my own, I feel as though I am in the midst of a revolution in so much in my own life, from food and eating habits, to exercise, to my self-image. I am finding myself at an increasingly better place in life, feeling happier, healthier, stronger, and more confident.

I want to continue this personal revolution on so many levels.

My food revolution: My eating habits are a world different from where they used to be. I am eating more whole and natural foods than ever before. I’m learning that it’s okay to have “unhealthy” snacks every so often and seeing that those occasional indulgences are the key to a balanced lifestyle. Let’s be honest, who doesn’t want to live in a world without cupcakes or ice cream? I sure don’t. I want to continue this revolution by finding new and fun ways to incorporate those foods into my life, trying things I never would have considered or even heard of without the healthy living community, and continue to cut back on the dairy I consume.

My fitness revolution: As I’ve discovered the joy of running over the past couple of years, I have definitely become more active than I ever was. I want to continue this revolution by finding new ways to challenge my running, be it longer distances or increased speeds, incorporate more strength training into my workout routines, and try new classes that I never would have tried before.

My self-image revolution: Like many, I have had huge struggles in this area. Some days, all I can really focus on is the big zit that popped up on my chin. (Speaking of, can I just say that I’m almost 27? I thought this whole acne thing was supposed to end, oh I don’t know, ten years ago?! Dear face, please stop breaking out like you’re still 17. Love, Mindy). I am definitely learning to see myself in a better light, but I still have a ways to go. I want to continue this revolution by reminding myself that my self-perceived imperfections are the thing that make me who I am, and that is a beautiful young woman. I want to encourage those around me to think the same about themselves.

My personal life revolution: I 100% believe that healthy living is more than just about food and exercise. I believe that it encompasses life as a whole. I feel like I really don’t talk a lot about my personal life on my blog, so perhaps now is the time to start. No time like the present, right? I want to continue this revolution by better managing my time, growing in my faith, continuing to improve how I’m spending my money, and find an organization I am passionate about to volunteer with.

So, this revolution idea is, I hope, going to be a big part of my blog and my life. Perhaps this is all a large order, but Rome wasn’t built in a day, people! I definitely realize that this revolution is an on going (read: never ending) process. We all make mistakes and there are definitely going to be times where I feel like I’m taking one step forward and twenty steps back.

Although I learned so much at the Summit (and have about seven pages of notes in Word to prove it), I think that what I truly learned came from the self-reflection and inspiration that came with the weekend. I may never start something huge, but what I can do is strive to be my best. You just never know what that might turn into. I am encouraged to continue living the best kind of life.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 08.16.10 5:59 pm

    Be The Change You Wish To See In The World… that is my favorite quote also…

    I love this post… 🙂 I have always loved the name of your blog, and love that what you are doing *IS* a revolution in so many ways!

    I look forward to reading more of your revolution!

  2. 08.16.10 11:14 pm

    I love Superchick, and that song, and they are some great lyrics to live by. your journey is an inspiring one. way to go, Mindy! can’t wait to read more. 🙂

  3. 08.17.10 10:19 am

    What a great post! It is good to go back and evaluate why we started blogging and how it has change over time. Your revolution is awesome!

  4. Beth @ Will Run for Books permalink
    08.17.10 11:47 am

    Great post, girl!

    I need to get back to 100% so I can feel motivated to blog about real things again!

Leave a Reply

