Skip to content

dinner club makes my heart happy.

08.19.10

I love, love, love my dinner club.

It’s a tradition that my friend Andrea and I started probably around three years ago or so. We would get together for coffee every so often and over time realized there were all these great restaurants around the city we had been dying to try.

We decided to start trying a new place every month under the premises that it could not be a) a chain restaurant or b) a place both of us had gone before.

Last summer, dinner club doubled when Jacqueline and Heidi started joining us. We’ve found some amazing restaurants that are now amongst my absolute favorites and some that are just okay. I don’t think there’s been one that I would never go back to again.

I love getting to try out new places, but even more I love the opportunity to spend time with great friends. We’ve all got such differing schedules that having a chance every month to all hang out is such a blessing.

This month was Andrea’s turn to choose and she selected the Shiraz Grille, a place she’s been talking about wanting to try for ages.

We started by sharing an appetizer of pita and hummus.

There was a glass of white wine, too.

For my main course, I had a couscous salad which had couscous, chickpeas, cucumbers, tomatoes, green and red pepper, parsley, scallions, cilantros, feta (makes it betta), olive oil and fresh lemon juice. I also had Baba Ghannouj with some more pita.

I definitely would have been okay with just the salad. I only ended up eating about half of each, but that just meant I had leftovers, so I’m completely okay with that!

Overall, it was a keeper! I’d go back!

Do you have anything like a dinner club with your friends?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. cookeatburn permalink
    08.19.10 9:29 pm

    I don’t… but I really like the idea! *Goes off to plan an email list for a dinner club….*

  2. andionthego permalink
    08.19.10 9:35 pm

    the handful of friends I hang out with regularly are pretty much creatures of habit (Friday’s, BW3s, Vitale’s). I’ve been making my own list of new places to try. I love checking out restaurant.com or groupon for ideas, too. one day I will visit all of them. 🙂

  3. 08.20.10 11:45 am

    That’s some of the best looking hummus I’ve ever seen! Yum. I have a group of friends who try to do dinner about once a month. It’s one of my favorite times!

Leave a Reply

