Skip to content

muffins that taste like doughnuts.

08.20.10

We have a staff potluck for work today and I, as I almost always do, signed up to bring a dessert. Baking is one of my favorite hobbies, but it’s way too dangerous for my waistline to keep baked goodies around the apartment too frequently.  Bringing them to work is the perfect solution!

Ever since I first heard about Muffins That Taste Like Doughnuts a month or so ago, I’ve been anxiously awaiting the opportunity to try them!

Adapted from the Pioneer Womans

Muffins that taste like doughnuts

(Makes 12 regular size muffins)

  • 1-¾ cup flour (1 cup white whole wheat, ¾ cup regular)
  • 1-½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoons salt
  • ½ teaspoons nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoons cinnamon
  • ⅓ cups unsweetened applesauce
  • ¾ cups white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • ¾ cups soy milk

In one bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon.
In a separate bowl, combine oil, sugar, egg and milk.
Add dry ingredients to the wet mixture and stir only enough to combine.
Fill a greased 12 cup muffin tin about half way.
Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes, or until golden.

Once the muffins are almost done baking, prepare the topping.

for the topping

  • ¼ cups butter
  • ⅓ cups sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon

Melt the butter in a bowl (do this after you take the muffins out of the oven)
Combine the white sugar with the cinnamon in another bowl.
Shake muffins out while still hot.
Dip muffins in butter, then into the sugar/cinnamon mix, and let cool on a wire rack.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 08.20.10 8:55 am

    These are perfect for me, because I prefer muffins to donuts. I LOVE muffins!!! I need to make these one day. Soon. Have a fun potluck!

  2. 08.20.10 10:35 am

    the title of this post is amazing. you had me at doughnuts.

    awesome recipe!!!

  3. 08.20.10 2:55 pm

    These look great, especially the tasting like donuts part! I haven’t had a real donut in years, so these would be a great substitute. 🙂

  4. 08.20.10 3:01 pm

    I have been wanting to try these FOREVER ! I like the subs you used… I may have to use YOUR recipe when I finally make these – they look SO good…

    HAPPY FRIDAY !!

  5. 08.20.10 4:04 pm

    Want to mail one this way?! They look so good!

  6. 08.20.10 4:34 pm

    Those look delicious! I bet they’d work just the same with almond milk, too. Yum!

  7. 08.21.10 3:02 am

    So making muffins this weekend. Holy yum I can’t wait to try them

Leave a Reply

