Skip to content

unplugging is healthy.

08.22.10

Minus my Summit session notes, I took most of yesterday to unplug. Between a desk job where I spend most of the day staring at a computer and then blogging at home, sometimes it gets a bit old. Don’t get me wrong, I am extremely grateful for my job and I love blogging. Every so often, though, a day away from the computer is just what the doctor ordered. It was a much needed break from the Internet.

Breakfast was nothing special. Sleeping in equals grabbing a quarter bagel and some coffee while rushing into the second service at church.

For lunch I made Kraft’s homestyle macaroni and cheese. I had a free coupon and I’m all about a) free stuff and b) trying new things.

I was a bit disappointed (although not really surprised) at the highly artificial ingredients.

Extremely white seasoning.

Overly yellow cheese-like product.

The finished product looks nice, right? The bread crumbs were a nice finishing touch.

Final verdict? If I’m going to make homestyle mac ‘n’ cheese, I’ll make it from scratch. The cheese flavor was quite weak and the sauce was a little thin. Kraft, stick to the blue box, it’s what you do best.

What kind of mac ‘n’ cheese do you make? The blue box or homemade?

The rest of my Sunday plans are highly enthralling: cleaning the apartment, doing some reorganizing and filling up a big box of stuff to donate. I’m in the midst of a minimalism spree. I have lots of stuff I really don’t use anymore, so I’m going to give it away to people that will make better use of it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 08.22.10 2:49 pm

    I haven’t had bpxed mac and cheese in years! I love just making my own. I have heard that Annie’s makes a good box mac and cheese, though. Have you tried it?

Leave a Reply

