Skip to content

august 24 #fitblog.

08.25.10

Question 1:  Many fitblog participants consider themselves to be on a journey. What has your last year been like?
Let’s see…a year ago, I was starting my last semester of full-time grad classes, working full-time, and mentoring a group of middle school girls through my church. So, up through mid-December, my MO was purely survival. It was a lot of really long days, stress, and not taking care of myself as I should. During this, I slowly put on some of the weight I had worked so hard to lose. The beginning of the year and even up until now has been a big transition. I went straight from high school to college to grad school, so it has been an adjustment to no longer be a student.

It wasn’t until the Healthy Living Summit was announced that I finally decided to start my own blog. I had been reading others for awhile, but that was the kicker I needed to get going on something I had been thinking about for awhile. I signed up for the site, but didn’t start doing anything with it until after a vacation in mid-May. The past three months have been a really great experience, helping me to be motivated and stay encouraged on a path towards living the best kind of life.

Question 1.1: Which areas of fitness, food, and/or blogging are you most knowledgeable about? How did you learn what you know?
Although I don’t post about it much since I haven’t really baked at all since I started blogging (minus last week’s muffins that taste like doughnuts), but that would probably be my area of “expertise”, if you could call it that. I suppose that after losing about 70 pounds, I am also fairly knowledgeable in that area as well. I learned by experience, mostly, with lots of successes and failures in both areas! My sister also really loves to bake, so I have learned a lot from her as well.

Question 1.2: What are some things about you that most of your readers or followers don’t know?
Well, this is completely unrelated to anything, but I have had glasses since I was five. My first pair were big, red frames, a la Sally Jesse Raphael.


Photo courtesy.

Hello, late 80s fashion statements.

When I was in third grade, they were not only glasses, but bifocals. And, back then, they weren’t the seamless lenses like we have now. Nope. They definitely looked like they had a big crack straight down the middle of each lens.

Thankfully, I’m back to regular old glasses now. They’re even cool looking Coach frames and all! I heart all things Coach.

Question 2: What are some unspoken rules of blogging or Twitter that you’ve learned? Have you ever committed a faux pas?

Well, if I’m being honest, if I’m making them, I really have no idea! If I do, I hope somebody tells me!

Question 2.1: How have other bloggers helped you? What have you done to support other bloggers?

The best thing other bloggers have done to help me is just be encouraging and supportive as I get my site off the ground! Caitlin and Sarah have also linked to my blog, which was wonderfully kind. For other bloggers, I just try to give the same support back to them!

Question 3: Changing gears… What are your thoughts on the media’s portrayal of women and young girls’ body image?

Horrible, terrible, and no good. I believe that the media is probably one of the largest influences our society has, particularly when it comes to females’ body image. When young girls see the celebrities they look up to appearing seemingly perfect on the cover of a magazine, how can they not feel critical about themselves? I don’t think it’s any different for grown women! It is easy to forget that it is a part of their job to maintain a certain image. Although I don’t necessarily agree with that, it’s the state of our society.

I do think that there are people in Hollywood starting to make a stand against the impossible standards the media creates, but there is so much room for growth.

This is definitely a topic I could go on and on and on about, so I’ll leave it at that.

Question 3.1: What are you ideas for preventing poor body image in girls?

I think one of the biggest things is openly telling them they are beautiful and wonderful just the way they are. I also think it is so important to help them realize that someone like Miley Cyrus or Taylor Swift or whoever else they might look up to have the magic of Photoshop, hair and makeup people, stylists, and so on to help them look the way they do on a magazine cover or during a television appearance. We need to remind girls that no, they don’t look like whatever celebrity they’d like to, but they look like themselves and that’s the most beautiful thing they could ever be.

Question 3.2: Do you think you have a healthy relationship with food and/or exercise? Why or why not?

I think it depends on the day! I know I have come so far in my journey. I went from eating whatever I wanted, when I wanted it. I could have cared less about nutrients or vegetables or being active. Then, I was on the other end of the spectrum, developing what I now recognize as disordered eating, with an unhealthy obsession with weight and calories and points and clothing sizes and portion sizes.

I think that those two extremes are helping me find a healthy balance. I’m learning that eating the right stuff the majority of the time is hugely important, but the rest of the time, it’s okay to have something sweet. It’s okay if I gain a couple pounds because I know that the numbers will go back down. If I feel fit and healthy, if I know I’m eating the foods I should be eating and being active, then I am honestly really not that concerned with what the scale tells me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 08.26.10 12:17 pm

    I’m sad I missed that fitblog chat. Those are good topics to discuss! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

