Skip to content

it’s the diet coke.

08.25.10

I’m usually not a huge fan of eating out. I like to prepare my own food, that way I know all of what is going into my meal. Plus, it’s so much cheaper! Today was an exception though because I ate out for both lunch and dinner.

But, before that, I started with a Lara Bar for a snack. It was actually the first time I’ve had one and thanks to the Summit swag bags, I will be buying them again!

A bit later, I headed to meet up with my sister and one of her kids for lunch at one of my favorite Mexican places in town, Maggie’s Kitchen. It’s a hole in the wall, but so good. I had my usual, the veggie burrito.

It comes with beans, rice, lettuce, and tomato.

I snagged some of the chips and guacamole my sister got, as well. I can’t resist guac!

This evening, my dad and stepmom came into town. They actually had my sister’s other two kids with them, so that was a fun treat!

We went to Arnie’s, a local restaurant and bakery. They have a few locations around the city and surround areas, but one burned down last spring. The owners were able to find jobs for almost the entire displaced staff at their other locations! How great is that? I love businesses that keep the needs of their employees first!

Their menu is quite limited with options for vegetarians, but I settled on the vegetarian panini caprese.

It came with a side of french fries. They’re the fat, potato-y kind of fries which are my favorite!

But, you wanna know the best part of eating at Arnie’s? (Almost) all of their meals come with one of their gourmet stuffed cupcakes at the end of the meal!

I got the red velvet cupcake! I love, love, love red velvet!!

YUM.

I think I figured out what has been causing me to feel so lethargic and bloated. Diet Coke. I used to be a habitual Diet Coke drinker, at least one can a day, but more recently, I have cut back considerably. I only drink it a couple times a week. Yet, in the past few days, I got myself back in the habit of the daily can. And, it’s been in the past few days that I started feeling gross.

I’m going to cut it out for a few days and see how I feel after that. I know it’s not the greatest thing to be drinking anyhow, so it’s really for the best.

Do you prefer to eat out or make your own meals?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 08.26.10 3:19 pm

    Yum! All of that food looks delicious. I tend to like to cook my own meals because, like you, I like to know exactly what is going into my food and it definitely keeps cost down. Sometimes it is nice to have someone else do the work for you and I especially enjoy it since my boyfriend and I have moved into a house without a dishwasher! I definitely hear you on the diet coke habit… mine is coke zero and I am realizing that I’m going through too many cans in an average week. Maybe cutting back will help me feel better, too!

Leave a Reply

