Skip to content

i heart september.

09.1.10

September.

It’s always been probably my favorite month of the whole year. I loved school growing up, so the excitement of the first day back, brand new notebooks and folders and pencils always appealed to me. Well, let’s be honest, office supplies still do appeal to me and I still do love school.

I love the slow transition from summer to fall. Don’t get me wrong, I love love love summertime, but there is something almost magical about watching the leaves start to take on the pretty fall colors. The smells are different. Pumpkin.

Plus, let’s not forget the fact that September is birthday month! The fun started Monday when all the “it’s your birthday so here’s a coupon for a free (insert item from restaurant of choice here)” coupons started arriving in my inbox. PLUS, my free Starbucks drink coupon came in yesterday’s mail. I love turning a year older. I love looking back on the year that passed, what that year of life brought me. But, my actual birthday is coming up in a few days, so you’ll get that full recap soon enough.

Anyways, all that to say, happy September!!

With a 6 am run, I feel like I should not be blogging at 11:30 at night, but I definitely got a second wind about twenty minutes ago. Seriously, where was that when I needed it about four hours ago?

I seriously need to go grocery shopping, in a desperate way. I give you exhibit A: my lunch.

Leftover pizza I snagged from a meeting someone else in the office had on Monday.

Oikos! One of the very few things I actually have in my fridge at the moment.

And, another piece of leftover birthday cake.

I seriously need groceries.

After work, I headed almost immediately to an orientation/training session for the youth group I volunteer with at my church. It worked out great for my current I have no food in the house situation, since they served us dinner! And, Thai food! YUM!

Veggie pad thai.

And some potato curry dish. It was a bit spicy, but so amazingly good.

I am really, really excited to be involved for another year. I worked with the middle school ministry last year, but decided to follow the girls I mentor on to the high school group. I absolutely adore these girls. They are so wonderful!!!

The way the youth group is set up is that every grade is a family and so there are a bunch of us that are the “life group” leaders, and we walk through life with the students. But, then there are family leaders who are there to support us. Well, turns out that two of the family leaders for my grade are actually my middle school youth pastor and his wife from my church back home! That completely made my day. I wish I could put into words the joy that these two people being back in my life brings to my heart. It is just what I needed.

Minus a near run in with a skunk this morning, I don’t think September could have started off much better!

What is your favorite month and why?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. andionthego permalink
    09.1.10 11:54 pm

    August is my favorite for sure – it’s birthday month! πŸ˜€ that, and I’m a summer girl at heart – I love the heat. I only like September because football starts then, lol. September = school for me, which is a little insane right now. πŸ™‚

    so did you get to enjoy your pumpkin spice latte yesterday? (forgive me if you already posted about it, I’m sooo behind on blog reading)

  2. 09.2.10 12:09 am

    One of my favorites is September also… it always feels like renewal, I love the crisp fall beginnings, and it is MY birthday also!! (Sept 27!!) πŸ˜‰

    It officially started today, though… Jason always gives me some kind of “treat” with a candle in it… today was an awesome doughnut. πŸ™‚

    that pad thai looks NOM πŸ™‚

  3. 09.2.10 12:57 am

    I totally know what you mean about the first day of school.
    Especially the office supplies part.

    I always felt like a weirdo because I looooove shopping for new notebooks and pens and pencils and everything!

    I guess I’m not alone!

  4. 09.2.10 8:50 am

    I completely agree with you about September! My birthday is on the 25th. I always loved the start of a new school year and the fresh start it brought with it.

  5. 09.2.10 11:45 am

    September is my favorite month! I love the start of school, especially teaching labs, the fall (in New England. But in Texas it does get a little cooler, too), and my birthday (the 13th). The youth group sounds awesome. I am trying to get into some volunteering this semester, I miss it!

Leave a Reply

