Skip to content

short work weeks rule.

09.8.10

I love love love short work weeks! It’s already Wednesday and it’s only my second day in the office! Plus, I’m taking half a day off on Friday thus making it even shorter! Yeah! Don’t get me wrong, I love my job, I really do, but I’m certainly not going to complain about a short week!

Last night, I assembled some vegan overnight oats for this morning’s breakfast.

My mix contained

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 2 T chia seeds
  • a spoonful of almond butter

So good! I was glad that I had a filling breakfast because it was a crazy busy morning! I needed that sustenance!

After a walk over to the post office on my lunch break, I came back and had a Morningstar chik’n patty smothered with Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce. It’s the only kind of BBQ sauce I’ll eat!

I paired it with a box of Green Giant frozen veggies.

They were not good.

At all.

Perhaps I should have paid more attention to the “Best By” date. Who knew that those dates really mattered with frozen veggies?

Maybe they don’t and it was just a bad box. Who knows. But whatever the case, I was disgusted from the moment it came out of the microwave and I saw some white gooey stuff on top of the veg. I tried to look past it, but it didn’t work. Two bites and I was done.

I interrupt this post with some breaking news. There was a rumor floating around yoga last night that when the new class schedule starts on Monday, hot yoga may be on there! I have been anxious to try a hot class since I first heard about it. Intimidated, for sure, but excited at the same time.

You may now resume your regularly scheduled blog reading.

I was especially grateful given the vegetable debacle that I threw a LaraBar in my bag this morning. Peanut butter chocolate chip!

Am I the only one who has a hard time not devouring these in like four bites?

Time to go figure out dinner before heading off to the church for the second installment of leader training. I am feeling completely clueless about what to eat. I’m so hungry, but nothing sounds good!

What’s your favorite fallback meal when nothing sounds yummy?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 09.8.10 7:49 pm

    I haven’t tried any of the new LaraBars yet! So jealous! My fave fallback meal is just some sliced avocado with a little S&P OR homemade refried beans. Gross huh?

  2. 09.8.10 11:38 pm

    LOL about the Larabar – I have to consciously try to eat it slowly. So good. I make a black bean+avocado bowl or lentils+hummus with veggies for my go-to meals when I don’t want to think too hard. 🙂

  3. 09.9.10 3:33 am

    Fallback meal:
    Couscous with something mixed in.
    It can be anything.
    And it takes just five minutes 🙂

  4. cookeatburn permalink
    09.9.10 8:25 am

    Peanut butter toast is definitely my go-to – quick easy and never fails to be delicious :).

  5. Kathi permalink
    09.9.10 11:37 am

    I always have homemade frozen veggie type burgers in the freezer. A quick and easy meal.!

  6. 09.9.10 4:08 pm

    I definitely have trouble not devouring Lara Bars in just a few bites. I’m searching for the new flavors but I still haven’t had any luck!

    My go-to meals when nothing sounds good are: Soup (my favorites are Roasted Red Pepper & Tomato and Lentil), Pasta with Sauce, or a Quesadilla.

Leave a Reply

