Skip to content

september 21 #fitblog

09.24.10

It’s been a month since I’ve been able to participate in #fitblog!  I’ve missed it a lot!

Question 1:  Were you a fit/athletic child or is healthy living something you came to later in life?

I tried to be athletic, but it was not a pretty picture.  I played soccer for a year and softball for a couple, but I was terrible at both!  I love swimming though, and always have, so in the summers I practically lived at a pool or Lake Michigan!  The majority of my healthy living habits have most definitely developed in recent years.

Question 1.1: What inspired you to get into fitness (either as a child or an adult)…did you have an “Aha moment”?

I don’t know that it was so much ah “aha moment” but just a slow realization that I was too overweight and that my weight was going to keep going up unless I changed something.  I had been unhappy for awhile, and my sister asked me to join Weight Watchers with her.  I did that and had great success, then slowly started adding in exercise.

Question 1.2: Did you have any fitness/healthy living role models when you were young, if so who were they (parents, siblings etc)?

My parents definitely tried but I think a big turning point (for the worse) was when the got divorced and my mom had to go back to work, so I had a lot more freedom to eat and do whatever I wanted.  Summers were especially hard because I had to fend for myself so much.

Question 2: If you had a magical fairy godmother what one fitness/healthy living related wish would you want her to grant you?

I would love for my magical fairly godmother to help me reach (and stay at) my goal/happy weight.  It’s been such a long journey working to get to that point, I’m ready to move on!

Question 2.1: What is something YOU can do that will bring you a step closer to making that wish actually come true?

Simple things…a few less sweets, a bit more cardio and strength training.  And, stop making excuses when I don’t do those things!  I know what I need to do…I just sometimes suck at actually doing it!

Question 3: What was the latest and/or best compliment you received that validated your fitness/healthy living endeavors?

It’s not necessarily a compliment in the way I would normally think of a compliment, but I’ve had so many people say how impressed they are that I’ve been going to my boot camp class at 5:30 every morning!

Question 3.1: Now spread the love! give an honest, thoughtful compliment to a fellow fitblogger!

This might seem like a cop-out kind of answer, but really and truly, everyone in the blogging community has been such an inspiration and encouragement.  I love reading everyone’s day-to-day stories, hearing about reaching their goals, and their journeys!  I feel so blessed to be a part of such a fabulous group!

Question 4: How do you draw the line between a healthy dedication to fitness and an unhealthy obsession with it?

For me, it’s all about moderation and listening to my body!  If I feel like I need a couple days of rest or to mix up my routine or eat a cupcake, it’s okay and I don’t need to feel guilty about it!

Question 4.1: Has there ever been a time that you crossed over to the “obsession” side? How did you know? How did you get over it?

I definitely had a period where I was completely obsessed with numbers – weight, clothing sizes, Weight Watcher points, calories, etc.  I think  I realized it when I started getting on the scale multiple times a day.  I think I’m still “recovering” a bit, but a couple big steps were quitting Weight Watchers once and for all, then putting my scale away for a month in what I called No Weigh May.

BRAG TIME! Share something you are especially proud of this week (it does not have to be fitness related)!

I am proud of myself of pushing a little bit harder than what is comfortable and easy at boot camp!  I have the sore muscles to prove it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 09.24.10 2:18 pm

    I haven’t been able to participate in fitblog for too long. And sadly Tuesdays nights are the ones I really can’t. 😦

    I loved reading all your answers in one place though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

