Skip to content

bring your pie and eat it too.

10.10.10

With the busy day I had yesterday, I didn’t have a chance to make anything for the family reunion today (we do it potluck style) and my sister gave me a big guilt trip about not bringing anything, so I stopped at the store after church and picked up the epitome of a fall dessert.

That’s right, pumpkin pie. In an unfortunate turn of events, a few piece of the crust may have broken off and been floating around in the box, and they may have just found their way to my mouth.

I have no idea how that happened!

It was a nice opportunity to get together. To be honest, it’s mostly just interacting with my immediate family at this reunion. The majority of the people there are my third cousins twice removed or something ridiculous like that. In essence, I really don’t know them from the random people I see on the street. But, I love spending time with my immediate family. They make my heart happy!

The vast majority of the main dishes were far from vegetarian-friendly. Plus, there were a few that I had no idea what they were, so I just steered clear. This left me with not many options. At least they were tasty! I had some green bean casserole, corn, pickles, and watermelon.

I also had some caramel apple salad. Times two.

And, you can’t bring pumpkin pie and not have pumpkin pie. Well, maybe you can, but I can’t.

Tonight was the second session of the holistic living class I’m taking at my church. A lot of what the presenter, who is a naturopathic doctor, was saying really echoed a lot of the things I’m getting behind now, and quite a few things in The China Study. I think the ideas behind looking at the body as well as lifestyle as a whole are so much more effective and better for one’s health than just treating the specific symptom or disease. The body is so deeply interconnected, that I strongly believe you can’t just focus on one thing.

On the way home, Regina Phalange (my car…yes, I named my car, but points for you if you know the reference!), passed a milestone! 125,000 miles! Keep ’em coming, Regina! (And, no, I didn’t take this while actually driving down the road!)

I heated up some of the pasta I made Friday night for dinner. One of the things that was mentioned in the class was actually take the time to chew your food which I am horrible about, so I tried to make a conscious effort to do that. He also said don’t multitask while you eat, but I failed. Miserably. One step at a time, dearies.

All in all, it was a great, albeit busy, weekend! What was the highlight of your weekend?

Coming up this week: a review of The China Study!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 10.11.10 11:36 am

    I love potluck style get togethers. My family is SO small that if we had a family reunion it would basically be my immediate family getting together for dinner with a few extras.

Leave a Reply

