Skip to content

experimentation ftw.

10.14.10

I wish LaraBars were a little cheaper because they are so good.  I can’t believe how long I was missing out by not eating them.  I was a big fan of Luna Bars for the longest time, but I love the super short ingredient list on these.  The peanut butter cookie bar only had three ingredients:  peanuts, dates, and salt!  Love it!  Perfect morning snack!

Lunch was the last bit of mostacholi.  I am far from disappointed to not have to eat it again for awhile.  I’ve gotten a little mostacholi’ed out the past few weeks!

By about 3, I was quite hungry again.  There was a pack of Swiss Cake Rolls calling my name.  You know how junk food tends to do that on occasion.  Eat me, Mindy, eat meeeeee!

I resisted, mostly because I knew it would keep me full for about 20 minutes then I’d be ready for the next thing to put in my belly.  Instead, I went with the option I new would keep me full a bit longer (and has considerably higher nutritional value):  trail mix.

Yum.  Not the same as my friend, Little Debbie, but it hit the spot.  Plus, I still got some chocolate out of it which is really all I wanted!

experimentation ftw.

When I was putting together food over the weekend to bring while I was house sitting, I got a bit experimental:  I cooked up some quinoa, added in a can of chickpeas and one of diced tomatoes, then threw in a couple tablespoons of Garlic Gold Lemon Vinaigrette.  Let me tell you what, it was so good!  I really didn’t know what to expect, but I loved it!

I paired it with some grainy bread with a little buttah.  I ended up having two slices of the bread, it was that good.

On my way to church for youth group, I grabbed a “I’m exhausted so I need some caffeine to keep me energized enough to hang out with a bunch of high school freshman” (unpictured) caramel latte.  Sometimes, when I listen to the stories these girls have, I am amazed at how drastically, and yet how little, high school has changed since I was there.  I hope I can be a great support for the girls through what is a really tough four years of life.  I wouldn’t want to experience high school again, it is a tough time!

breakfast.

I used to live on milk and cereal for breakfast.  It was really a staple in my diet.  But, after mixing things up for awhile with everything from green monsters to overnight oats, it really just doesn’t cut it anymore.  I love it occassionally, but I just can’t reach for the box like I used to.

So, this morning I didn’t.  I got a bagel instead.

Way better than cereal.

What’s your favorite breakfast food?  Do you eat the same thing most days or do you like to mix it up?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 10.14.10 10:23 am

    wow, that bagel is REALLY calling my name right now… 😉 it looks SO good!

    generally I have a protein smoothie then a bit later some yogurt + hemp… sometimes an egg.

    that quinoa looks great, too! I love those easy throw together things, they sometimes surprise you!

  2. Kristie permalink
    10.14.10 6:22 pm

    I love breakfast so much that I rarely find myself eating the same thing 2 days in a row because everything is just so good! Cereal, bagels (Einstein Bagels has free bagel Fridays!), muffins, smoothies, oatmeal, eggs, pb toast… seriously, I like it so much I have bfd at least once a week :-P.

    • 10.14.10 11:11 pm

      Ah, I haven’t had Einstein’s in FOREVER! There was one on campus at Grand Valley and I was a frequent visitor, sometimes for nothing else than they had a fireplace which was wonderful between classes in the winter!

  3. 10.15.10 10:36 am

    I try to mix up my breakfast occasionally, so I don’t get bored. But my favorite all-time breakfast is eggs and bacon. Yummy!

  4. 10.15.10 6:52 pm

    I think my favorite thing to eat for breakfast is oatmeal loaded with sweet stuff. Like “pumpkin pie” oats or “gingerbread” oats 🙂 I usually switch it up.

    Sometimes I’ll have leftovers, sometimes, I’ll have toast, sometimes I’ll have a GIANT green smoothie. Depends on my mood 🙂

    And of course, how late I have slept in that day 😉

Leave a Reply

