Skip to content

green monster crunch.

10.18.10

I did not drink nearly enough water this weekend (okay, nearly enough means almost none) and it caught up to me last night. I went to bed with the worst headache and was not at all surprised to wake up with a full-blown migraine. I finally got moving later in the morning, despite still not feeling the best. I have way too much to do at work this week to have missed the whole day.

Fortunately, breakfast (which ended up really being my lunch) was ready and waiting in the fridge: overnight oats in a jar! My jar had: 1/2 cup plain Chobani, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup oats, 2 tablespoons cacao nibs, and the remnants of my jar of peanut butter.

I brought it with me and ate at work…and got a couple funny looks for it. Then again, I’ve become fairly accustomed to those looks between some of the foods I eat and photographing it all. Such is the life of a “healthy living” blogger!

By the time I got home from work, I was craving something with lots of nutrients. Bring on the green monster, my friends! I threw in some frozen berries, a banana, a cup of almond milk, 2 big handfuls of spinach, and 2 tablespoons of ground flax. I added a little Kashi GoLean! Crunch to add a little, well, crunch to the monster!

And, a mini Clif Bar. I wasn’t impressed. I’ll stick with Lara Bars, thank you very much!

Remember how I said I was going to the race expo despite not running this time around? I am so glad I did because the shirts weren’t just regular cotton shirts, but Brooks wicking 3/4 length sleeve shirts! I will definitely get some major use out of it!

Most of the other stuff was completely not worth my time, particularly the can of Pepsi Max Zero. Seriously, soda at a race expo? Am I the only one who finds that just a bit odd?

Have you ever gotten anything that seemed out of place at a race expo (if you’ve been to one)?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 10.18.10 7:05 pm

    nope – that is really odd to have soda at a race expo !!?

    *LOVE* the green monster crunch !

  2. cookeatburn permalink
    10.19.10 6:13 am

    Only time I’ve heard of soda + races is at ultra-race distances. Apparently then it’s good mid-run fuel? Glad you got the race shirt because it does look awesome!!

  3. 10.19.10 11:24 am

    I love green monsters topped with some crunch… yum! Also, I bought those mini Cliff bars and they are OK, but I definitely prefer Lara. The thing is that the mini lara bars are SO small, and these ones are at least a little bigger.

  4. 10.19.10 11:35 am

    I bought those mini Cliff bars and totally agree they are not as good as Lara Brs, bur the mini cliff ones are so much bigger than the mini Lara ones – I’m torn!

  5. 10.19.10 4:51 pm

    I’m in need of a green smoothie right now, may be my evening dessert 😉 I know how you feel, I get bad headaches if I don’t down the H2o.

Leave a Reply

