Skip to content

we’re not in kansas anymore.

10.26.10

There has been ridiculous weather here in Grand Rapids today, my friends, complete with tornado warnings and all.  With the sporadic warnings, we spent the morning funneling in and out of the stairwells at work.  And, like you do in any tornado warning during the work day, we played games.

Yahtzee, to be specific.

Yes, we just happen to have a Yahtzee set lying around my office.  What, you don’t?!

lunch.

One of the tornado warnings was just before noon and we were joking about calling Jimmy John’s to have them deliver.  So, that’s what I did…not during the tornado warning though!  I talked to the girl who delivered it and she said that people actually were!  One of their people had to deliver a party platter to a tornado shelter and they had someone delivering on a bike!

I went with my standard:  a vegetarian sammie with extra avocado and BBQ chips.

I forgot to get it sans mayo.  Shoot.

Fortunately, after lunch the tornado warnings were done, but the sky has looked so awesome today!

I was driving and had to stop and take a picture, I was in such awe of how amazing the clouds looked with the sun coming through!  I wish the picture did it justice!

I finally went in for an appointment to get my bridesmaids dress altered.  I’ve been waiting to do it, but the wedding is in less than three weeks, so I had to make it a priority.  It’s such a pretty dress, I can’t wait until after the ceremony to show y’all pictures!

dinner.

Yep, I had pumpkin bread for dinner.  It was delicious and I enjoyed every bite of it!

Okay, I need to focus on Glee.  I am LOVING the Rocky Horror episode!

Have you ever experienced a tornado? There was a “derecho” (think of it as a sideways tornado) in my hometown when I was in middle school!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10.27.10 4:19 pm

    I voted for your friend! I think my two big goals for 2011 are going to be the Riverbank Run and the GR Half … are you game? 😉

    and the weather was nuts yesterday. I got about 4 different texts from CC cancelling then reinstating classes. I ended up going in around 12:30, but I guess they evacuated all the students to the basement 3 times that morning. yuck. it’s still windy out today – hope you don’t get blown away!

Leave a Reply

