Skip to content

briana’s health+fitness revolution.

10.30.10

I’m going to be away for a couple of days, so I’ve got a couple fabulous women lined up for some guest posts on how they’ve found their personal revolution, kicking off a series called Your Revolution.

Hi everyone! This is Briana from Nurse with a Purse. I am so excited to be writing my first guest post for my friend Mindy!! So hi, nice to meet you, hope this little blurb lets you get to know a little more about moi. 🙂

Hubs, Pup, & I

Going off of Mindy’s blog title, I’m going to write a bit about my revolution in the health and fitness arena. Unlike a lot of bloggers, I haven’t had a true “revolution” in the way of weight loss. I have been of average size most of my life, standing at 5’3″ and weighing anywhere from 110-125 lbs. Plus I have always thought of myself as a fairly fit person ~ I grew up participating in many different sports (skiing, bowling [truestory], cheerleading, lacrosse, softball). Although being overweight was not something I ever classified myself as, I always thought I was a bit on the chubby side. Perhaps it was the round face? The bad short haircuts? No clue. But being chubby never really bothered me. And I never thought it was time to do something about it until last summer.

After getting married in August ’08, my husband and I later found out that we would be moving to Birmingham, Alabama in the summer of 2009 for his job. I was totally fine with it. Although, living in Michigan all my life, I had never really been that far away from my family and friends. So I had just put it in my mind that it was an adventure that would last only one year. What’s the big deal ?

Well,, once we moved in and settled down, I was m i s e r a b l e . I had put on a few pounds over the past few months leading up to the move. But after the actual move, I had absolutely no desire to do anything health-conscious, leading to more pounds being packed on. Most days I sat around, watched movies, layed by the pool, snacked, and  essentially loafed. I had a membership to Anytime Fitness, which was right down the street. But during those first few months, I probably made it there 3 times. If I was ever close to experiencing depression, that was it. I missed my family. Missed my friends. Missed my job. Missed everything.

I was actually pouting cuz I was wet in Tuscaloosa, but I pouted a lot those days.

Near the end of October, I decided that it was time to get moving, literally. I needed socialization. I needed something to get me out of my rut. I needed to get healthy again. I needed to focus on ME. So I started applying for obscure jobs (seeing as how I was unable to find a nursing job anywhere), and landed a position as a sales associate at Anthropologie. At that time, I also started working out more. I got myself to the gym a couple times a week and also started dabbling in running. I had run a few 5k’s before, so I knew I had the running bone in me. The biggest problem I had was finding places to run (isn’t it always hard in a new city?). Luckily I found a great little trail down the road that was perfect for me.

Jemison Park

Once the new year rolled around and I started to notice visible changes in my body. I made a resolution to run more in 2010 and subsequently registered for the Rock N Roll Country Music Marathon in Nashville. The next 12 weeks were the hardest, yet most rewarding weeks of my exercise life. I was fortunate enough to have a fairly lax work schedule, so getting my training runs in were no problem at all. Not to mention, the winter climate in Alabama couldn’t have been better for training (50-60 deg F). Did I mention that the south shuts down with even the threat of snow? Wimps 😉

Once April 24th came around, I knew I had this. I took off at the race start and got myself to the finish line in 2:06. I had anticipated 10-minute miles, so this finish was beyond my expectations. I wheezed and cried tears of joy as I crossed the finish line, arms in the air in victory.

Mike and I rockin’ our new medals!

That was it. I was forever changed. When is the next race ?!

While I was in training, I was very focused on fueling my body properly. No more fast food runs, pizza nights, and endless snacking. I turned to many of my healthy living Twitter friends for direction, including healthy recipes and just plain ol’ motivation. Low and behold, while discovering the runner in me, I also unleashed the cook in me! Since then, I have been much more health-conscious about what I put into my body (although pizza does make it’s way in there every now and then!).

So the moral of the story, if you hit a rough patch and don’t know your way out, dwelling should only be temporary. Find something that interests you and pursue it. I had NEVER imagined that I would work retail in a million years (I have my Master’s degree for pete’s sake!). But working there was probably one of the best decisions I could’ve made. I met so many great people, made lifelong friends, and now I have a much better appreciation for the work that goes into folding clothes 🙂 The running thing…it’s me. And I can’t believe I didn’t realize it sooner. To date, I have completed three 5Ks, 1 10K, 1 10-miler, and two half-marathons (5 of those this year alone). My next goal is a full marathon in 2011. Anyone with me??

Thanks for reading. And thank you Mindy for giving me an outlet into your revolutionary world !! 🙂

xo, Briana

Thanks for sharing your story, Bri!  Count me in for the marathon!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

