Skip to content

love is louder.

11.10.10

Yesterday, I woke up thinking how is it only Tuesday and today I left work saying I can’t believe that the week is more than half over!  Seriously, this week is (starting) to fly by.

I had a couple bananas to use up, so I threw one into the blender this morning to make up a green monster.  Also in the mix was:  1/2 cup mixed berries, 2 heaping handfuls of spinach, 2 tbsp flax meal, 1/2 cup vanilla Chobani, and 1/2 cup almond milk.

I was a bit smarter when I brought it to work today and put it in a water bottle.  I got far fewer funny looks this way.

My lunch break came and went today.  Quite literally.  It was probably 2:30 pm before I realized I hadn’t actually taken my break.  At that point, I just decided to keep working and left half an hour early.  I really enjoy that I have such flexibility.

Never fear, though, I didn’t actually miss eating lunch.  I had some leftover veggie sloppy joe.

I kind of wish I had missed it though because it did not sit well in my stomach.  At least, I’m hoping and praying that’s what caused my angry belly this afternoon because I cannot get sick right now.  I am the maid of honor in a wedding on Saturday!

Must stay healthy.  Must stay healthy.  Must stay healthy.

Just as a precaution, I am laying super low tonight.  I let my co-leader for my youth group know I wouldn’t be in, as much as I hate missing out on a chance to connect with my girls.

Glee fans, did y’all catch last night’s episode?  I thought it was one of the best of the entire series with a great message.  I am so glad to see Kurt start to stand up for himself.  I think his character is a great role model for teens.  It is such a tough age and when you’re bullied, it just makes it so much harder.

One organization that really aligns with the message of last night’s episode is Love is Louder, which started in September of this year.  Actress Brittany Snow started it in cooperation with The Jed Foundation and MTV as a response to the recent suicides of so many teens who have been bullied.  Love is Louder is focused on spreading the message that “love and support is more powerful than the external and internal voices that bring us down, cause us pain and make us feel hopeless”.

I am 100% behind this movement.

What crowd were you a part of in high school? I had a lot of friends, but I was definitely NOT a part of the popular crowd and I was completely okay with that.  I did my own thing and was kind of a nerd.  Okay, still kind of am a nerd.  Whatevs.  I am who I am.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    11.10.10 7:29 pm

    yay for nerds!

Leave a Reply

