Skip to content

river bank run: round two.

11.12.10

Although it is just over six months away, I signed up for my next big race this week: the River Bank Run 25K on May 14!

I ran this race for the first time this year and it was one of the most challenging experiences of my life.  I want to approach things a bit differently this time around in my training.

  • I am a big baby when it comes to running in the cold, but it was in the 40s on race day.  I need to be better prepared for those temperatures.
  • Hills, hills, and more hills.  There are a bunch in the second half of the race course.  I need to incorporate hills into my training plan.
  • This year, my longest run going into race day was 10 miles.  Not good for a 15.5 mile race.  I need to have longer training runs.
  • Cross training!  I did little to no cross training this year.  I think it will be really beneficial to incorporate that into my life.  Yoga, strength training, elliptical…anything, just so it’s not all running, all the time.
  • Believe in myself.  As race day approached, I seriously began to doubt if I could do it.  Those mind games got to me a LOT during the race.

I am really excited to take on this race again.  A bit nervous and anxious, but excited no less.

It’s going to be a long day, for sure.  Race in the morning, then hopping in the car.  I have to be at Michigan State University for a graduation ceremony that afternoon to cheer on a bunch of my friends.

It’ll be long, but so wonderfully good.

I. Can’t. Wait.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 11.12.10 9:30 am

    I’m excited for you! It looks like you have a great approach to the race this year.

Leave a Reply

