Skip to content

beautifully different.

12.8.10

Thanks for the budgeting advice, friends!  I decided to backtrack and make mine a bit more simplistic than I had started out, so I think it will be not only easier to keep track of, but also so much less stressful.  I had broken it down into so many various categories, including things like entertainment and household supplies and so on, but for now at least, I’ve got a lot of the major stuff categorized out, like rent, utilities, savings, and the rest is what it is.

Lunch was a simple one.  I had my usual from Jimmy John’s:  vegetarian with no mayo (which I actually remembered to request this time!) and extra avocado spread.  Confession:  the avocado is really what makes JJs worthwhile for me.  Otherwise I really don’t think it’s that special.

I had some errands to run after work before I headed to youth group.  All day long, I had been craving a smoothie from the one place in the mall that makes them with actual fruit, rather than just purees or juices.  I was hugely disappointed that they’re closed for remodeling.  Lame.  Since I had smoothie on the brain, I went down to Panera and got one from there.  Just not the same.

And, I may have stolen some of Jacqueline’s Burger King french fries.  Salty, greasy deliciousness.

Beautifully Different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

I’ve been dwelling over this all day.  The whole “what you do that lights people up” thing really stopped to make me think and to be honest, I’m not entirely sure I know exactly what those things are.  The first thing that came to mind is I like to think I have a big heart and really try to care for the people in my life.  Sometimes, it’s just something so little that can really brighten someone’s day, like a text to say “I’m praying for or thinking of you today”.  Making an effort to remember important days in their life, be it a birthday or anniversary, and show you’re thinking of them.  I think that’s gotten a bit cliche in recent years with a quick message on a Facebook wall.  I love sending cards in the mail.  Who does that anymore?

Sometimes I wonder if the things that make me different are special or just kind of weird.  I like to think they’re special because they’re the things that make me just who I am.  Sure, they might appear crazy to people around me and at the end of the day, I’m (mostly) okay with just owning who I am.  Of course I get overly self-conscious at times, but who doesn’t?  I get overly excited about some of the smallest things, even something like hearing a favorite song on the radio, or even more, hearing a brand new song from one of my favorite artists.  My favorite place to go when I’ve had a bad day is the bookstore.  I’m not afraid to admit I love shows I’m clearly far too old to be watching.  I know there’s other stuff that makes me different.  Everyone is uniquely who they are.  I could probably go on for so long about it, but it is really only in recent years that I’ve learned to truly embrace my uniqueness.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 12.10.10 3:26 pm

    I just found your blog through your comment at Meals and Miles. I love your story and I completely agree about Jimmy Johns! Besides the avocado spread, it’s just not all that. Also, I’m sure you do many things that make people light up!

Leave a Reply

