Skip to content

washington dc, I’ve got my eye on you.

12.16.10

I made a bit of an impulsive decision today.  In a little over four months, I’m heading out to Washington DC for the CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield National Half Marathon!!

I got a bit jealous on Twitter seeing so many people from the healthy living blogworld signing up.  So, I did too.  I think it’s just the motivation I need to really get me going again.

For the rest of the afternoon, I went from thinking what the hell did I get myself into? to I’m ridiculously excited for this! and back again.  It shall be a great time!

Breakfast brought back some pumpkin!  I threw together a bit of a parfait to bring to the office with vanilla Chobani, pumpkin, cacao nibs, pumpkin pie spice, and rolled oats. 

I brought in the brownies I made last night for today’s double birthday celebration at work and they were a hit!  Corey’s is today and Deb’s is in a couple weeks but because of the holidays, today was really the last chance we had to celebrate with the whole department, so we added her in the mix.  Like any good birthday celebration, we always have party favors.

Because, really, who doesn’t need some Disney princess silly bands in their life?!

Today was also the big reveal day for our secret Santa at the office so a bunch of us ordered in lunch for the celebration.  I had a personal sized veggie pizza with mushrooms, onions, green Peppers, green olives, tomato, and eggplant.

While we ate, we took turns guessing who our Santa was.  I was quite certain of who had me, but my certainty was clearly mistaken when I guessed the wrong person.  My Santa was really great though.  Every morning when I got to my desk, there was a fun gift waiting for me!  Thanks Sheila!

I headed to the gym after work for the first time since I got sick at the beginning of the month.  Well, technically it was the second time going in with Tuesday’s failed attempt, but this time I actually did something.  I took it a bit easy, and did a mile on the treadmill at a 1 percent incline and another mile on the elliptical.

When I got home, all I wanted was a nice, cold green monster.  I threw in some strawberries, raspberries, a banana, a cup of spinach, and 2 tablespoons of chia seeds.

You know you’re a food blogger when you think your floor mat is a great background for a photo.

It tasted so good and completely hit the spot.  Except now I am absolutely freezing.

Okay.  My laundry basket is quite literally overflowing, so I’m off to take care of a couple loads.

Are you an impulsive person or do you rationalize everything? I think I’m a little of both, but the impulsive side has come out a bit more over the past couple years.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 12.16.10 11:41 pm

    Awesome!! I’m running in that too!

Leave a Reply

