Skip to content

twisted rooster.

12.21.10

Confession:  since my afternoon post, a couple more cookies were consumed.  Okay, I feel so much better after I got that off my chest!

dinner club.

Tonight was December’s round of the Grand Rapids Dinner Club.  The venue was Twisted Rooster, a place that’s been on the radar for quite some time and we finally made it!

Overall impressions, good atmosphere, but nothing special.  The menu was not very vegetarian friendly.  I love that they have an emphasis on using locally grown food.  That makes my heart happy!

I wasn’t planning on getting a drink, but I was so intrigued by the pumpkin spice martini that I couldn’t resist getting one!

I wasn’t a huge fan at first (quite possibly the first pumpkin related thing I’ve said that about!), but it grew on me.  I think the spice + martini combination is just a bit out of the ordinary, it takes some getting used to.  There was much more spice than pumpkin flavor which was a disappointment.

My dinner was quite tasty.  I had the grilled flatbread veggie wrap which was “marinated and grilled vegetables, basil and goat cheese with chive cream cheese wrapped in grilled naan”.  It came with a side of fruit in a honey peach yogurt.

All in all, a success.  I’d love to go back when I don’t have a belly full of potluck treats!

After dinner, I headed to the Y.  Perhaps not my smartest idea after all I’ve eaten today, but I’m determined to a) start my half marathon training out strong, and b) get myself back on a regular exercise schedule.

I did some time on the treadmill.  I did 2.5 miles total in 31:04.  I did some of it walking, particularly the last half.  Some of that, I carried a couple 5 pound weights.  15 minutes of strength and a lot of stretching later, I was done!  My muscles are really feeling the past few days.  I am really tight, but I think (hope) the extra focus on stretching will help.

And with that, I’m off to bed.  This tired girl needs some sleep!  Only two more days of work!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 12.22.10 2:43 pm

    I live about 6 miles from Twisted Rooster ( in G. Rap) and have yet to make it there! I keep hearing mixed reviews about it! My husband went last Thursday, but just for the music not the food. ( he can’t eat there w/o me!!! My rule.) I hope to try it before the end of the year.
    I can’t drink martini’s — I am too wimpy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

