Skip to content

the twenty eleven goals.

12.31.10

Happy (almost) New Year! I can’t believe we’re just hours away from another year winding down!  I’m excited for twenty eleven, or tweleven as I would like to refer to it.

2010 was a great year for me.  I’ve reflected on the past twelve months quite a bit throughout my Reverb10 posts, but some of the highlights were definitely:  my first cruise in January, starting my blog, a trip to Nashville and running the River Bank Run 25k in May, attending the Healthy Living Summit in August, going to numerous concerts and theater productions throughout the year, and standing as the maid of honor in my dear friend’s wedding.

What a great way to kick of the year. I hope this is what heaven is like!

As wonderful as 2010 has been, I’m excited for all that 2011 has in store.  I can feel it deep down that it will be an amazing year!

A couple weeks back, I wrote about the eleven things I want to eliminate from my life this year.  While I fully believe in those things, I want to add in some goals for the year.  I refuse to call them my New Year’s Resolutions because I feel like that has a horrible connotation to it.  Resolutions are meant to be broken in this day and age.  There has been one time in my life that I’ve kept a New Year’s Resolution for the whole year.  I gave up soda while I was in high school.  Junior year, I think it was.  Goals feel attainable.

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about what I want to achieve in the next 365 days and about what I can realistically achieve.  It’s a lot, but go big or go home, right?  So, here goes nothing.

health and fitness.

  • Run in at least eight races. I’m already registered for three (two 10ks and a half marathon) and considering a fourth.  I would love for one of the 8 to be a full marathon!  One step at a time.  First, let’s get through the half.
  • PR a 5k in under 30 minutes. I know I’m not the fastest runner out there and I’m okay with that.  Currently my PR is 30:15 (so close!) and I would LOVE to get a time under 30 minutes!
  • Reach my goal weight. Back when I started Weight Watchers in September 2006, I set a goal of 133 pounds.  I know you really shouldn’t but a timeline on weight loss, but I’d love to get there before my 28th birthday on September 6.
  • Complete the 100 push up challenge. I’ve started and stopped this more times than I can remember.  In 2011, I will finish (doing them all the “real”, aka not girlie/modified, way).  Bonus?  I’ll have some killer arms!

food.

  • Eat out no more than twice per week. I am terrible about eating out, especially when it comes to the time I’m at work, be it stopping for a bagel on my way into the office or having lunch delivered.  When I prepare my own food, it’s (generally) healthier and I know what I’m eating.  I don’t have to worry about if it’s truly vegetarian or there’s something in there I don’t know about that makes it non veg-friendly. Plus, it’s way cheaper.
  • Eat vegan one day a week. I say I want to make the full switch to veganism.  I don’t know if it will ever happen (in all honesty, I doubt it), but this is a good starting point.
  • Limit fancy coffee drinks to once per week. By fancy drinks, I mean lattes, mochas, etc.  If you’ve read my blog much at all, you probably realize I get these quite often.  It’s expensive and not that great for the waistline.  I want to consider them a treat, not the norm.

financial.

  • Put 10 percent of my monthly income into savings. I got a bit better about this in 2010, but want to be more serious about it this coming year.
  • Save enough to buy a DSLR camera by the end of the year. I drool over them anytime I’m at a store that sells cameras.  I get camera envy when I see other people with one.  I want one of my own.  Enough said.

personal.

  • Finish reading the Bible by September 6. I started a year long reading plan on this year’s birthday.  As of now, I’m quite far behind, but this is something I’ve wanted and tried to do several times. I will finish!
  • Read at least two books a month. Ideally, one fiction and one non-fiction OR classic novel.  I’m a bit reader and I can finish a chick lit book like it’s nobody’s business.  I really want to increase the amount of non-fiction and classics I read.
  • Write in my personal journal at least twice a week. Since starting my blog, I’ve slacked at this.  Journaling is a great way to work through things, write about things I don’t necessarily want to publish for the world to see, or just ramble on about what’s going on in my life (okay, I do a bit of that part here).  Since I started my blog, this has fallen to the wayside and I want to get better about writing those thoughts as well.

blog.

  • Make the switch to self-hosted. This part kind of freaks me out.  It seems like a lot of work and I’m nervous about screwing something up and losing all of my work thus far.  I know there’s so much more I can do with my site being self-hosted.  I bought my domain name, now I’m ready (I think?) to make the full switch over.

So there you have it.  My 2011 goals in a nutshell.  I cannot wait to see what 2011 has in store for my life!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 12.31.10 2:14 pm

    such great goals, lady! And a lot of them are on my list for 2011, too!

    I want to run a 5K in under 30, get to my goal weight, read the Bible again (cynthia of itallchanges and I are reading it chronologically together 🙂 awesome! ive read through the bible a few times, but never in this order! excited!)

    I should really take on your plan of drinking less fancy coffee drinks! I get them ALL THE TIME when i am working in the coffee shop. I should settle on tea or regular coffee MOST of the time, and just get a latte ONCE a week! I think this is going to be my new plan! 🙂 THANK YOU for the inspiration!

    i am also trying to do more push ups (as in…you know…ONE..ahem.) and read more (which i actually have been dong the last week or so 🙂 yippee!)

    am excited to see how far we come in the year!

  2. 12.31.10 6:59 pm

    YOUR BLOG IS GREAT! you have alot of resolutions BUT I’m sure you’ll be able to complete and follow through with them all in 2011 you seem quite motivated!

    My goals are to eat smaller portion sizes and have a more positive self image. only a few but they’ll have a BIG impact!

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  3. 12.31.10 10:14 pm

    This is a great list! You have some wonderful things to look forward to in 2011! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

