Skip to content

weclome to 2011.

01.1.11

We will open the book.  Its pages are blank.  We are going to put words on them ourselves.  The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.
Edith Lovejoy Pierce

Happy New Year!! I hope this first day of tweleven is starting out wonderfully for you!

I had a great New Year’s Eve.  I, along with Andi and Kayla, ran in the four mile Resolution Run in East Grand Rapids and was pleasantly surprised at how it went!  The recap will be up later, so I’ll leave you in suspense for now.

Pre-race fuel was a slice of toast with sunflower seed butter and white chocolate chips.

I planned to bring some Gu to take just before the race started.  Then I remembered this plan as I was walking up to the starting line and saw someone else taking some.  Oops.

After the race, we walked over to Olga’s Kitchen for some dinner.  We were hungry girls!  I left my camera at home since there was a chance of rain and I didn’t want to risk ruining another camera because of water.  But, I had a veggie wrap on Olga bread (think pita, but softer), some fries, and a smoothie.

Once I got home, I had time to relax before getting ready for the evening.  I was going out to a party called Bottom40.  B40 parties are epic.  They happen about five times a year, always have a theme (last night was The Last Prom on Earth), and the music is mostly indie/underground stuff.

I was just going to wear the dress I wore last year (fashion crime alert!), but I found a cute and inexpensive one at Target.  It’s definitely not my usual style, but I loved it.

Next time, take the picture before leaving the house, not after.

My dear friend Ashely was my “date” for the night.  The number of single people in the group is quickly diminishing, so most of our friends had an actual date.  We and our other single friends hung out most of the night. 

I had maybe half a can of PBR.  I am definitely over the days of cheap beer.  It was nasty.  Okay, it’s never been the greatest thing on the planet, but I could always tolerate it. Those days are over.

Just before midnight, the place was packed.


I’ll be honest.  Much like PBR, I think my Bottom40 days might be numbered.  It was great to ring in the New Year with some wonderful people, but I’m a bit over the whole scene.  By 10:30 Once the ball dropped, I was more than ready to leave.  Just before midnight, some girl tripped and half her beer ended up on my back.  I have a big bruise on my foot where someone stepped on me with their heel.  It was just a few too many people in a bit too small of a space.  The claustrophobic in me freaked out a couple times.

So, we’ll see.  Perhaps I just wasn’t feeling it last night.  I won’t rule out another one yet.  But, now I’m more than ready for a relaxing day, starting out with some fruits and veg in the form of a green monster. I threw in 1 cup of berries, a banana, 6 ounces of vanilla Chobani, a cup of spinach, 1 tablespoon of Sun Warrior protein powder, and 1/2 cup of water.  I layered in some rolled oats as I poured it in the glass.

Yep, I drank my smoothie in a wine glass.  Gotta be classy on New Year’s and all.

I’m excited for no major plans on the agenda today.  I’ve only got 100 or so pages left in The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest and it’s getting really good, so I’m determined to finish.  I’m thinking a short run is also in order, but more importantly, some yoga.  My muscles are screaming for a good stretching session.

What’s on your agenda for this first day of 2011?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 01.1.11 12:41 pm

    The dress looks gorgeous on you. I think it definitely suits you, Mindy! PBR is my least favorite beer. I will not touch the stuff. I am quite the beer snob. If you ever need a beer reccomendation, please ask. I think I have great taste!

  2. 01.1.11 12:49 pm

    Love that dress, girl. You look super cute. Hope you had fun, despite the beer and bruise disasters. 🙂

    I started my day with oats and fruit and now am getting my fruits and veg in the form of a green smoothie for lunch. Yum!

    Have a lovely day!

  3. 01.1.11 3:27 pm

    Loved your December 31st recap, girl!
    I bet you guys had so much fun on NYE 😉
    You looked awesome!
    Happy New Year, Mindy 🙂

  4. 01.3.11 10:39 am

    I love that dress– it looks great on you! I know what you mean about the going out scene– I get that same claustrophobic feeling when I’m in bars like that.

    You are inspring me to drink more green monsters– yours always look so refreshing and healthy 🙂

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

