Skip to content

the real start of 2011.

01.4.11

It was surprisingly not too heinous when my alarm went off this morning (and I was even awake until close to 3 am), so I was pleasantly surprised!  I think as the week goes on, though, it will get harder…much like every other week!  Going back to work and my normal routines made it feel like 2011 has really begun.

breakfast.

I wanted a good, filling breakfast to start off my day so I went the pumpkin oats route with the standard mix of vanilla Chobani, pumpkin, rolled oats, a few pecans, and pumpkin pie spice.  If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, yo.


I knew I wouldn’t have a chance to get a snack in since I was in a meeting all morning (yep, three hour meeting on my first day back…jealous, aren’t ya?).  Sadly, it wasn’t enough.  My stomach was making some serious noise by the time we wrapped up.

lunch.

By the time I actually got to eat, it was still another couple of hours later!  I suppose all is to be expected when you’re gone for 11 days?  Lunch was an easy one:  refried beans, guac, and chips.

I was tempted to just go with the guac, but I was really craving the extra nutrients from the beans.  Looks disgusting, tastes amazing.

The good thing about coming back to work today?  There was a TON to get done, so I was really busy all day.

The bad thing about coming back to work today?  There was a TON to get done, so I felt a bit stressed.  Goodbye vacation, hello reality.

I debated sharing this, but since I had mentioned it once before, I thought I should update.  On a more serious note (compared to my feeble attempts at comedy before), as  I was leaving work, I got a call from my dad.  After a short but tough battle with cancer, my grandma (stepmom’s mom) passed away this morning.  It is truly sad, but I know she was in a lot of pain these last couple of weeks, so it’s comforting that she’s not anymore.  Plus, she’s in heaven, so that’s cool too.  We’ll miss you, Jane.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 01.4.11 7:14 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss, Mindy.

  2. 01.8.11 11:31 pm

    Mindy, Sorry for not letting you know sooner, but I’m so sorry about your Grandma! You and you’re family are in my thoughts and prayers!

Leave a Reply

