Skip to content

the unexamined life.

01.5.11
tags: ,

Yesterday, I had pizza for dinner.  Today, I had pizza for lunch.  Had I known it was going to be pizza for dinner, I probably would have done things a bit differently.

See, at the youth group I volunteer with, Anthem, all the leaders for each grade are considered a “family”.  I work with the freshman; therefore, freshman family.  A couple times each semester, we meet before everything starts for the night for a family dinner and tonight was one of those nights.  Dinner was provided, as usual.  Pizza three times in two days?  Let’s be real, there are worse things in the world.

I had two slices of veggie.

The teaching tonight was probably one of my favorites this whole year with a focus on identity, belonging, and mission.  Those are three things we talk about a lot as leaders in the student ministry, but I don’t think it’s often directly approached with the students.

The choices we make every day, the actions we take and words we use, who we surround ourselves with, how we spend our time, and so on all shape the person we are.  How often, though, do we really stop to think about our choices?  Personally, it gets easy for me to get into my comfort zone and not question things.  I may have a self-awakening moment and try to have the best intentions, but old habits die hard and it can be easy to slip back into them.  By asking questions like who am I? and why am I here? and what’s my place? are so important.

The unexamined life is not worth living.

I know that I’m one of the leaders in the group, so it can get easy to fall into the thinking of this is directed at the students, but I know that this is stuff that is important for me to think about to.  There is always more to learn.  Comfort zones are safe and (generally) predictable and, well, comfortable.  But, what if those things that have become comfortable are no longer helping me to live the best kind of life?

Really good stuff to ponder, no?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

