Skip to content

santa’s workshop exploded.

01.8.11

Hi friends!

The past 36 or so hours have been a bit of a whirlwind, to say the least.  Once I got up Friday, I got ready and headed home for my step-grandma’s funeral celebration.  She didn’t want us to mourn her being gone, but celebrate the life she lived while she was here.  I think that’s exactly what a “funeral” should be.  I stayed at my mom’s last night and we grabbed a pizza for dinner.  Eat in Month strike one for the weekend. It was a quiet night around the house.  We watched a few episodes of Reba and talked a lot.

This morning, we headed over to my cousin and her husband’s new home to celebrate Christmas with my mom’s whole side of the family.  All 18 of us!

On the way, I stopped at Panera to grab coffee and something for breakfast:  cinnamon crunch bagel with hazelnut cream cheese.  My favorite combination!  It was, however, Eat in Month strike two for the weekend.  Desperate times call for desperate measures.

For the past few years, my family has done a more casual approach to Christmas dinner.  Rather than the full blown sit down meal, we do appetizers.  I love it because it feels much more relaxed.  I hate it because I end up eating far too much.

It wouldn’t be so bad if this had been it.

But, it wasn’t.  Add it about four more slices of fruit pizza, a ton of spinach artichoke dip, a handful of cinnamon roasted almonds, and a can and a half of Diet Coke.  All in the span of less than 2 hours!  Many hours later, I still feel full!

I brought my workout clothes home with me with the good intentions of running.  That didn’t happen at all.  Such is life.  In all honesty, it was far from my top priority.  Running will still be there for me tomorrow.  The past two days have been about my family.  I’m more than okay with that.

When my mom’s side of the family does Christmas, it generally looks like Santa’s workshop exploded.  I give you Exhibit A.

I got some really great gifts this year!  It was primarily lots of great stuff for the kitchen, as well as a Starbucks gift card and money to put towards a DSLR camera.  Thanks family for the lovely gifts!!!  I can’t wait to put it all to use!

I’m quite thankful that Christmas 2010 has now officially come to a close in my life.  I absolutely love the  Christmas season, but when I’m still celebrating two weeks after the fact…it’s time to move on.

And, with that, the emotional roller coaster that has been this weekend is catching up to me. I’m off to sleep!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

