Skip to content

always a laker.

01.12.11
tags:

You know those days where you just feel like your life is go, go, go all day long?  That’s where I’m at right about now.  I left my house at 7:30 this morning and finally got home close to 10:00 tonight.

As soon as I got out of work, I headed back to my alma mater, Grand Valley State University, for a meeting with the Young Alumni Council.

I did both my undergrad and graduate degrees at GVSU and yes, I am one of those people that will go on and on about how much they love their college.  It was a rough start but I had an amazing experience during my time on campus.  I grew up a lot during that time and learned so much about myself. As I walked through campus, I felt almost giddy about being back.  I love being a Laker and I’m so proud to be an alum twice over!

Fun fact:  my high school and college mascot were both a “Laker”.  At Grand Valley, his name is Louie and he even has his own Facebook profile.

While I on my way into the meeting, I stopped at Starbucks for old time’s sake.  Having a Starbucks on campus was a life-saver during my night classes once I was doing the full time work and full time student thing!  A life-saver on my wallet?  Not so much.

Did you know they can make a peppermint mocha all year long?  I didn’t and I was kind of bummed to learn that.  It ruins the illusion of it being a seasonal drink!

dinner.

The Young Alumni meetings always include dinner which is a definite bonus.  Tonight’s was delicious!  A couple different salads, some couscous, fruit, bread, and dessert?  What more could a girl ask for?  Well, maybe a class of wine.  I had a little bit of everything.

That chocolate-y, peanut butter-y square?  Brownie?  I don’t even know what to call it.  Whatever it was, it was uh-may-zing.

I left that meeting a bit early to drive to the church for Anthem, where I was a bit late.  I’m glad I was able to fit everything in, as best I could, but now I am exhausted!

Are you involved as an alumni?  Or if you’re still in school, do you plan to get involved? I highly recommend it!  I love staying connected!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 01.13.11 12:21 am

    You went to GVSU? I went to Hope in Holland. I miss that area so much. Also, your veggie pasta bake a couple of posts ago looks delicious! Absolutely delicious!

  2. Harry seward permalink
    01.13.11 10:11 am

    What does an alumni council do? I associate an alumni council, generally, with soliciting donations from alums.

    • 01.13.11 9:19 pm

      The Young Alumni Council plans/hosts a lot of events for alums in their 20s and 30s. We’ll have networking, educational, outings to sporting events, volunteer opportunities. It’s basically a way to keep recent grads connected to the University.

Leave a Reply

