Skip to content

be enchanted.

01.23.11

The fabulous Shane Hipps gave the teaching at church this morning and it was one of those “well, I already know that but need the reminder to actually DO it” kind of messages.

Can we afford to waste even one more day not enchanted by this miracle of life?

Shane talked about how the average Western lifespan is 70 years or 25,550 days.  In my mind, 70 years seems like a long time, but when you break it down into days…not that much.  Borrowing from the example Shane used, what if someone gave you $25,550 to live on?  It would go fast, but you would (I hope) make the most of every penny.  And just like that money, our days go fast.  So, why should we fill them with negativity or focusing on disappointments or even wishing for the future?  Rather, fight for this life and appreciate every single moment you have in this life.

It can get easy to get caught in a cycle of negative thoughts or what you wish were different about your life or whatever else.  I’m guilty of it.  But, I would much rather be using my precious time to be joyful about the little things (and the big, too!) and find grace in the midst of the everyday and celebrate the life God has blessed me with.  When I’m a little old lady, I want to look back on my life and remember how happy I was about life!  Again, none of this is earth shattering, but it was a wonderful reminder.

{Oh, and any church sermon that starts out with the trailer for 127 Hours and people going on stage to build sandcastles during the teaching?  You know it’s going to be some good church!}

lunch.

I was in a food experimenting mood today.  First, at lunch I tried a new food:  acorn squash!  I was really excited to try it, if for not other reason that it’s always fun to eat a food that makes you feel like a badass because you broke out a huge knife to chop open your food.

After I cut it open and scooped out the guts, I put about a tablespoon each of Earth Balance and brown sugar in each side and baked it at 350 degrees for about 40 minutes (in retrospect, another 5 or 10 minutes would have been even better).

I scooped out one of the halves added a little more Earth Balance, some salt and pepper, and loved it!  I’m excited to eat the other half sometime this week!

I knew squash alone wouldn’t be enough to keep me full, so I cooked up a small bowl of pasta to go with it.

In other afternoon adventures, I didn’t do yoga, but I did spent a solid 30 minutes shoveling.  That is a serious workout, people!  I was sweating by the time I was done (which is considerably impressive considering that the temperature was only in the teens by midday).

I also finished To Kill a Mockingbird which puts me at 1/50 in my 101 in 1001 goal of reading half of the BBC Top 100 Books list.  It’s, by far, one of my favorite books of all time and I’d been wanting to read it again for awhile.  After a discussion about it on Heather’s post about current reading material, it seemed like perfect timing!  I loved it just as much as I remembered!  It’s a wonderful story about the depths of a person’s character and relationships.  Plus, Scout Finch has a strong, independent sass that every woman should envy!

dinner.

Continuing in the experimental line from earlier in the day, I got a bit creative in my sandwich making.  I used spinach artichoke cream cheese, sprouts, and tomato on toasted whole grain bread.  I had some carrots on the side.

It sounds disgusting and I’ll be honest, after I finished putting it together, I seriously doubted myself.  I was surprised at how much I really enjoyed it, though!  The flavors worked well together.  Either that or I was just really hungry.

be enchanted.

In light of this morning’s message, I have to say that as much as I complain about Michigan winters, there are the occasional times when it can be a beautiful season.  Today was one of those days.  The sun was shining (a rarity this time of year!) and it was gorgeous how it reflected off the snow and icicles!  I spent a good majority of the afternoon sitting by the windows, reading, and enjoying the sunshine.

A lovely Sunday afternoon.

What are you enchanted by today?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 01.23.11 7:17 pm

    I’m on chapter 6 of To Kill a Mockingbird 🙂

  2. 01.24.11 7:00 pm

    One of my friends just blogged about that sermon. I listened to it online and it struck a chord with me as well. I tend to be “in the past” kinda girl… as in “I wish I had done this…” or “Why didn’t I do this instead…” and so on, but we have so little time here, it’s time to live life!

Leave a Reply

