Skip to content

it’s what works for me.

09.20.10

I managed to salvage my lunchtime quinoa. I added some hot water, a little salt and pepper. It wasn’t the greatest ever, but it was definitely much more edible than what I started with!

Later in the afternoon, it was time for a trip to the snack drawer for some PopChips! Seriously, the Summit swag does not end! I still haven’t decided if that’s a good or bad thing. On days like this, it is beyond good. I was a hungry, hungry hippo girl!

And, the plethora of treats in the break room finally wore me down. I had a cupcake and it was worth every calorie! Sometimes a girl just needs two desserts in one day, can I get an amen? I’ll be honest, I really just wanted the frosting. The cupcake was just a vehicle to get it in my mouth!

Dinner was quick and easy: a Morningstar burger (I was craving something that I could put some pickles on!) and Green Giant corn. After my last frozen veggie debacle, I was a bit hesitant about trying them again, but the ear of corn I had bought wasn’t looking too pretty anymore.

As I was eating, I contemplated my desire to completely switch to vegan. At this point, I consider myself about 75% vegan. I try to limit how much dairy and eggs I eat, but if I have an ice cream cone, that’s cool.

I’ve realized that the odds I will ever been 100% vegan are pretty much slim to none. And, that’s completely okay because it’s what works for me. I give an immense amount of credit and respect to those that do maintain that lifestyle because in our society, it’s not easy (at least in my opinion). It works for them…or, if nothing else, they make it work for them. I’m not to that point yet.

Sure, there is a chance someday I’ll make that full transition, but there’s also a chance that someday I’m going to want a big, juicy steak. I don’t anticipate either one happening, at least not in the near future, but if I’m eating in a way that is right for me, in a way that provides the nutrients I need, in a way that properly fuels my body, all of that is what is most important for me.

Right now, I’d much rather focus on continuing to increase the amount of fruits and veggies I incorporate into my daily habits, and finding new, fun ways to do so. Right now, I’d much rather continue to experiment with new foods and I never would have tried before. Someday, all of this might lead to all out veganism. But for today, the way I eat is what works for me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 09.20.10 9:13 pm

    I am contending with the same thoughts about veganism. When I stick to it regularly it makes me feel so good, both physically and mentally. I know there are times when it just doesn’t work out, though, without being so stringent to the point that it actually becomes unhealthy. I have so much respect for people who are able to commit to it 100% – 100% of the time. I think you just have to learn what’s best for you and practice that, whether there is a name for it or not. It’s just…YOU!

  2. 09.20.10 11:45 pm

    I believe that you need to eat what is right for you. That is the only way a healthy lifestyle will actually last. Do what feels good. And there is nothing wrong with more than ne dessert a day. Sweets can make you happy, and they do taste great, especially if they are fresh and homemade!

Leave a comment