Skip to content

grilled cheese fail.

07.13.10

I’ve been craving a grilled cheese for a couple days and finally made one for dinner tonight. It was a bit of a minor disaster.

I got the pan too hot, so my spatula melted a bit onto it. Not cool on my new set of pots and pans! Then, when I was trying to get it off the pan, part of the bread stuck so one of the layers of bread tore apart. Fail.

The important thing though, is that it still tasted good. I just had to eat it with a fork is all. I suppose there are worse things that could happen. Still bummed about my pan though. I need to figure out how to get the spot of melted spatula off.

Since my half marathon training plan starts at the end of the month, I thought it was probably time to really start focusing on my running again. It probably would have been easier had I never stopped focusing, but lesson learned. I did 2 miles in 23:45, then hit up the elliptical for a bit (1.54 miles/20 minutes).

I stopped at the snack bar when I was leaving the Y for a smoothie. Lesson: ask how they make their smoothies before ordering. I was highly disappointed that it was just some juice mix and ice. No actual fruit. I was craving protein, so I got some protein powder in their too. No fruit, but it sure was tasty.

The rest of the day was fairly uneventful. Breakfast was a serving of Kashi GoLean! Crunch with soy milk. Some Oikos Greek yogurt with oatmeal for a midmorning snack. Lunch was another serving of my pesto pasta creation and half a bottle of an Odwalla drink. I took a Gu on the way to the Y. My energy was seriously lacking! I need to work on getting more fruits and vegetables in!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 07.13.10 11:04 pm

    That grilled cheese still looks good, too! I hate it when things stick to skillets and pans. That has been happening to me a lot lately!

Leave a comment